How Reading Eggs Helps Your Child Master Reading at Their Own Pace

Reading is a difficult skill to master, but one which is essential for child development. We asked the experts from Reading Eggs to explain how their unique reading development programme can help

What are the five components of reading skills?

  1. Phonics: the process of mapping the sounds in words to written letters, it’s the introduction between the link to letters and sounds
  2. Phonemic Awareness: where children learn about sounds (phonemes) syllables and the units that make up words.
  3. Vocabulary: the words that a child can hear, say and understand, this will translate to their ability to read and write these words. Having a greater vocabulary helps children access a greater variety of reading material.
  4. Fluency: this relates to the frequency a child practices reading and their ability to access a large variety of words and process them quickly.
  5. Comprehension: a complex skill that takes time to develop. This is where a child understands the meaning behind what they are reading.

What are the age stages of reading skills?

All children learn to read at their own pace and it is important to allow each child to experience this in their own time. Reading Eggs offers different programmes for their various stages in reading development, but it is important to remember to allow your child to progress in a way that works for them.

The guidelines are generally:

  • Emergent readers are just starting to discover words and reading, they may be just making up a story through pictures and recognising letters. Age can be anywhere between 6 months and 6 years old.
  • Alphabetic Fluency, shows a reader more comfortable with words and can actually begin to sound out or read words. Age can be 6 – 7 years old.
  • Words and Patterns is where children start to develop stronger reading skills and can decode words themselves as well as begin to comprehend meaning in text. Age range 7 – 9 years.
  • Intermediate Reader is a child that no longer needs to rely on educational tools to sound out words and can decode language and comprehend things more automatically. Age 9 – 11 years.
  • Adult or Advanced Reader, at this stage a child can consume complex reading material with little difficulty and demonstrates a desire to read more and is able to comprehend and learn or decode meaning on their own. Ages 11 to 14 and beyond.

How does the Reading Eggs programme work?
It is a sequential series of lessons that starts at a complete beginner’s level. It develops essential reading skills in a progression that will take a non-reader through to a year 2 reading level.

What ages does the Reading Eggs programme cater for?
Ages 2 to 13 years. This includes Reading Eggs Junior, Fast Phonics, Reading Eggs and Reading Eggspress.

Is the programme approved by educators? Is it used in schools?
The programme is developed by educators and used in schools worldwide.

Is the programme aligned to the national curriculum?
Yes, Reading Eggs is developed with this in mind. For systematic, synthetic phonics instruction, Fast Phonics (available free with a Reading Eggs subscription) meets the National Curriculum requirements for phonics instruction in reading.

How effective is it?
The programme works by setting out a series of lessons and games that follow different stages in reading and learning development. These lessons allow your child to steadily progress at their own pace and parents and carers are also updated with reports on their progress along the way. The programme has been developed by experienced educators and is devised in line with the curriculum.

It’s also been proven to show that just 15 minutes of Reading Eggs a day can boost kids reading levels and 91% of parents have reported to notice this improvement in their children’s reading ability. To date, it has helped more than 20 million children worldwide learn to read.

How much material is available in the programme?
There are hundreds of lessons available for every reading stage for children aged 2 – 13.

For the early learner, a child who is just starting their learn-to-read journey, there are 3 levels called Stepping Stones Reading. There are 40 different lessons in each level covering the core elements of learning to read in 120 lessons. Once children have completed this there are many more progressions to be had with Storylands, Spelling and Driving Tests.

Each of these progressions offer many more lessons with hundreds of activities to cover the learning experience.

Can I try it for free?
Absolutely. There is a 30 Day Free Trial offer via the following URL –

Where can I find out more about Reading Eggs?
Visit and head to the FAQs section.

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter and get
• FREE Competitions
• FREE Digital Magazines
• HOME and FAMILY News
And much more…

You have Successfully Subscribed!